Member FAQs

Find answers to a list of common questions asked by ACE members.

If your question isn’t answered below, please email us at

What is The Association for Co-operative Education BC/Yukon (ACE)?

Established in 1992 The Association of Co-operative Education BC/Yukon (ACE) is a non-profit organization. It is a member-led volunteer organization of 15 BC publicly funded post-secondary institutions.

How do I get involved with ACE?

ACE encourages all members to get involved as their schedule allows. Being involved is a great networking and career advancement strategy.  Members are encouraged to volunteer at the board or committee level.  The time commitment varies depending on the time of year and committee – but is typically less than a few hours per month.

What is the Accountability Council for Co-operative Education (ACCE)?

The ACCE is an independent council of the Association for Co-operative Education (BC/Yukon). The Council is comprised of one member from each publicly funded post-secondary Co-operative Education institution in BC/Yukon as appointed by the President of the institution. The Council is accountable to key Co-operative Education stakeholders (such as students, employers, government, and educational institutions). The ACCE exists to provide and encourage the adoption of consistent program guidelines and standards for quality Co-operative Education in BC, to gather and disseminate relevant data, and to work as a collective voice to discuss accountability and institutional issues related to Co-operative Education.

What is the purpose of ACE?

To promote Co-operative Education to students, employers, and key stakeholders by:

  • Providing high quality professional development for our members,
  • Facilitating a forum for the exchange of ideas and experience,
  • Liaising with other organizations involved in related interests,
  • Maintaining a leadership role provincially, nationally and internationally in the field of Co -operative Education and other forms of experiential learning.

What are the different committees within ACE?

Member Communication Committee

Mandate: To develop clear communication strategies that fosters a sense of community, openness, and collegiality within the Association.

ACE Awards Committee

Mandate: To recognize the outstanding achievements of our provincial co-op students, outstanding members and industry partners.

Professional Development Committee

Mandate: To support professional development needs of ACE members

Research Committee

Mandate: To provide research on topics that are relevant to the ACE members

External Relations Committee

Mandate: To promote the philosophy and practice of co-operative education in our region.

Membership Committee

Mandate: To welcome new members and engage current ACE membership

Which institutions make up ACE?

Currently the following institutions are members of ACE:


  • British Columbia Institute of Technology
  • Camosun College
  • Douglas College
  • Langara College
  • North Island College
  • Okanagan College
  • Selkirk College


  • Capilano University
  • Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Simon Fraser University
  • Thompson Rivers University
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of the Fraser Valley
  • University of Victoria
  • Vancouver Island University